Bleach-blond redhead

Anticipating the first chilly morning, I filled all my feeders last night. I’m glad I did. Among the usual suspects at breakfast buffet, I saw this eccentric fellow.

IMG_1488 IMG_1484

It’s a partially leucistic House Finch.

I’m always looking for leucistic birds, but this is the first time I’ve been able to get a photo. A few years ago an American Robin with ‘racing stripes’ – white feathers in its wings – visited the yard for a day, and I’ve seen mottled Robins on the Cornell campus. There’s a stunning white Red-tailed Hawk (frequently mistaken for a Snowy Owl) in the area, but it often hangs out on the I-90 bridge when I’m zipping past at 60. Maybe someday I’ll be fortuitously stuck in traffic!

Browse through Google images for leucistic birds and delight your eyes. Common birds, many of them, made stunning by a chance mutation. Of them all, my favorite is the calico red-winged blackbird seen by Nancy Nabak.

Categories: Bird photos, Feeder birds, Rara avis, What am dat bird? | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Bleach-blond redhead

  1. Neat when something startling unusual like this shows up. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Betty frezon

    So thrilled to see this. Sometimes we look. At birds and think something different. This is spectacular.

  3. Upstate Ellen

    Very unusual. I have photos of a leucistic Common Grackle that visited my feeders a couple of years ago.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

