The usual suspects, part I

It isn’t just the males of the species that brighten up their plumage for spring. This female Purple Finch caught my eye today, looking very crisp and bright. They always remind me of pint-sized female Rose-breasted Grosbeaks.

IMG_0420

 

At least, I assumed it was a female, but I don’t remember noticing this hint of red wash on the scapulars before.

IMG_0421

 

I didn’t notice that until I cropped the photo.

Categories: Bird photos, Feeder birds, Usual suspects | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The usual suspects, part I

  1. Elizabeth Frezon

    Love it. They are so pretty. yep grosbeaks come to mind. So happy for your visit the other day. Thanks.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Thanks for helping me remember that Spring has never failed to come.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

