Duet

Two Great Horned Owls are serenading each other in the woods. I stood outside under Orion, listening as long as I could.

IMG_5624

 

(This is not those owls, but it’s likely the only GHO I’ll ever be lucky enough to photograph.)

Maybe this winter I’ll try bushwhacking around to locate their nest. They sound like they’re just up the hill in the pines but I haven’t seen evidence of where they roost — no whitewash on the bark, no pellets.

Categories: bird behavior, Bird photos | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Duet

  1. I have only ever heard any owls, never photographed any, and so your “lucky” GHO photo is lovely to see.

  2. Around here I always seem to strike out on Great Horned Owls. I have much better luck with Eastern Screech. At least I can get them to answer to recordings and occasionally fly in to check out who’s calling.

  3. Upstate Ellen

    Cool! (Funny, I just mentioned Great Horned Owls in my response to your other post this week!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

