11/10/10, continued

Nassau Lake was the place to see and be seen today, if you’re a Hooded Merganser. I counted at least two dozen and there were more ducks in rafts further out. Two Great Blue Herons were patrolling the banks. I was starting to think they had all moved south already.

I took my scope out for the first time in (ahem, too many) years. I thought at first it was the strong headwind blowing into my eyes that made viewing difficult, but then I realized there is a pattern of fine crackling on the glass of the eyepiece. I tried to clean it but the lines remained. Maybe there was a finish coat on the lens that has degraded over time… damn. The scope was an expensive toy (by my standards, anyway) and though I got a lot of use out of it the first few years, it’s spent too much time in the back of the closet.

Red-bellied Woodpecker, Downy Woodpecker, Hairy Woodpecker, Black-capped Chickadee, House Finch, White-throated Sparrow, Dark-eyed Junco, Common Crow, European Starling, Tufted Titmouse, Blue Jay, White-breasted Nuthatch, Red-breasted Nuthatch, Canada Goose, House Sparrow, American Robin, Wild Turkey, Red-tailed Hawk, Northern Cardinal, Ring-billed Gull, Mallard, Great Blue Heron, Hooded Merganser.

23 species.

Categories: Feeder birds, Field trip, Species count, Tools of the trade | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

