Doesn’t this look delicious!

Home-made suet cakes,, yum! Melt one lb. beef suet, strain out the crackling (starlings and squirrels love it), cool, then melt/strain/cool twice more. Melt once more and mix in stuff as desired: this batch has peanut butter, unsalted dry-roasted peanuts, corn meal, oatmeal, and currants left over from a baking experiment. Add the extra ingredients until it’s a fairly thick mixture, between cake batter and cookie dough in consistency. Pour it into pans to about 1 or 1.5″ thickness (or whatever works in your suet feeder) and cool again. After it’s cooled, you can slice it into hunks and freeze it.

I put one of the quarters above in my feeder and it was GONE in less than 2 days. The birds were literally lining up to get at it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Doesn’t this look delicious!

  1. You have a source of suet? I need to find one of those. I’ve been saying for all too many years that I need to make my mother’s suet pudding, and this winter, by golly, I’m going to do it.

    • My local Hannaford has a decent butcher department. I just dig through until I find the cleanest hunk. The first heat&strain is the smelliest but by the third pass it’s much more like lard.

      Suet pudding — every time I come to that gloppy gelatinous Galapagos pudding scene in M&C, I shudder. I’d rather watch another amputation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

