Road birds

Yesterday I saw a fledgling Killdeer on the roadside. It raised its wings as it ran, showing the primaries were not fully developed.

Today’s bird-in-the-middle-of-the-road was a Ruffed grouse. As is usual for these dimwits, it ambled along until it noticed my car was 6 feet away, then erupted into awkward flight. I waited for a minute to see if any grouslings were hiding in the grass, but saw no movement and decided the bird’s departure was less, “I’m wounded, follow me,” and more, “Holy crap, where did THAT come from!”

Otherwise, warm/humid for the last two days. The birds don’t have much more energy than I do.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Road birds

  1. Naomi,

    I keep track of the birds I see on my blog too. I use my blog as a kind of diary for my day to day activities. But since I bird quite a bit, there is quite a bit about it in my blog. I have bookmarked your blog and will look at it often. Good luck and good birding.

    Dave

  2. One day in 1998 I was hiking with my girlfriend at the time in Chaumont Barrens Nature Conservancy preserve near Lake Ontario (http://www.nature.org/wherewework/northamerica/states/newyork/preserves/art11823.html). We walked from a field of scrub into a pine forest, and suddenly an amorphous brown mass *flowed* toward us through the underbrush. Off the top of my head, I can’t remember being more scared by an animal in the woods. It was moving so steadily that it was almost as though it was gliding, and between its speed and the obscuring underbrush it was impossible to resolve as a coherent image. We backpedaled so fast that, from its perspective, we must have blue-shifted. And when this terrifying cloud of hell’s fury slowed and stopped…

    …it was this little bird. This little brown bird. This little brown bird that probably weighed all of a pound. We were very frustrated and embarrassed but the ludicrousness of the situation trumped any negative feelings. This little ruffed grouse (at least I think that’s what it was) had nearly made us soil ourselves. Now *that’s* an effective display!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

