(slightly belated) January totals

With Randall’s help I set up a database to record all my birds of the year, first month seen and how many months. For January I saw 45 species, one new to my list (Horned Lark).

By comparison, Corey has 191 birds already. OK, he lives in NYC so gets all the seabirds, and spending time at the Space Coast Birding Festival sure didn’t hurt. Keeping things strictly local, I predict I’ll be doing well to break 100 by the end of March, and that may (may!) be optimistic.

This is not what January 31 usually looks like on Snyder’s Lake. Just out of frame to the right, ice-fishers trusted the thickness of the ice more than I would.

Geese on open water, 1/31/12

Categories: Bird photos, Month count, NYS 2012 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

